Shooting Backlight – It can be at your own backyard

I took these photos during my trip to Labuan last year. I was really in love with backlighting during that moment. I took my family to search for a shooting location. We moved 1 place to another, but I couldn’t find the desired spot. So I decide to just forget about it and move on to do something else. On our way to the City, we passed by Jumidar Buyong, there was an empty lots for sale among the elite houses with the scenery that I was looking for. The challenge here is to deal with my background, the best is to have trees as background or at least any dark background. I have no choice but to raise my camera higher than my daughter’s eye level. Another challenge is to keep my daughter to stay in focus, she can’t stay still even for a few second. I managed to get few shot, the shooting time is less than 5 minutes, but 1 of these shot stays for months at my phone wallpaper. It was 1 of my favourite backlighting shot I ever made. Below is my shot sequence on my attempt to get the shot I intended.

1. I like the sun ray above my dauther’s head, this kind of ray I what I looking of in backlight, but the houses is distracting this shot.

2. I managed to get clean version of the shot. I raised my camera above my daughter’s eye level. I quite happy with the shot but I think I need to be closer as there are so much negative space in this shot. It actually works if we planned to put some writing on it.

3. I move closer, shot with lower angle than the previous image. I knew this was the shot I was looking for but I kept shooting few more angle. Back at home when editing, this image is the shot I like the most.

This image was shot using Nikon D90 with Nikkor 35mm 1.8 @ F2.8. What I learned is:

  • it is better to visualise the desired shot, this could be your starting point to plan your shoot
  • when you visualise, to find location is much more easier
  • if the location is not working, forget about it and find another location.
  • to pay attention on distraction at the background and its surrounding
  • if it doesn’t work at this angle, try another and keep trying
  • go out there and shoot!

“The most important lessons in life can never be expressed in black and white, but must be experienced” – Benny Lewis

Related Post:

Buy Less Gear, Get eBook:

click_728x90px

natlight_728x90px

Posted on January 13, 2014, in family, Headshot, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

